TOWN COMMISSIONERS' LEGISLATIVE MEETING CHARLESTOWN, MARYLAND July 9, 2024 6:00 PM Town Hall, 241 Market Street and via Zoom

Attendees: Renee Capano, Rob Rinehart, Richard Mahan, Jackie Akers, Tom Costanzi, Chris Williamson, Bryan Lightner, and Kathy SanDoe

Public: Pamela Mahan, Audrey Edwards

Zoom: Ursula Boudart

President Capano called the meeting to order at 6:00 PM.

Ms. Pamela Mahan was asked to lead the Pledge of Allegiance.

President Capano thanked the Charlestown Fire Department for the excellent job they did protecting the Town during the recent fire. They are very much appreciated.

Approval of the Minutes – June 11, 2024 and June 18, 2024 – Charlestown Commissioners: Commissioner Akers motioned to approve both the June 11 and June 18 minutes. Commissioner Mahan seconded. Approved 5-0.

Accounts Payable Review - Charlestown Commissioners: President Capano stated there was an issue with the new accounting system and checks could not be printed. They will be printed and signed as soon as possible for approval at the next legislative meeting.

Old Business

Maryland House and Garde Pilgrimage Update – Pamela Mahan: Six counties were part of the pilgrimage this year. The Town of Charlestown was last part of the pilgrimage in 2010. Due to the positive response, the Town of Charlestown will be included in the pilgrimage again in two years along with Port Deposit. Cecil County earned a total of \$3,600 from the pilgrimage. During the awards luncheon in Oxford, Ms. Mahan gave a presentation and an extra \$1,000 was awarded, bringing the total to \$4,600. This amount was split evenly between the Town of Perryville and Colonial Charlestown, Inc. The \$2,300 will go towards the restoration of the historic water tower next to the Tory House. Ms. Mahan thanked the Town staff and Commissioners, as well as, the St. John's United Methodist Church, and the P.K. Barnes Ice House, for their partnerships.

New Business

Grants Update – Chris Williamson: The HCD Circuit Rider Grant will continue in FY 25, with an amount received of \$80,000. Marlene Muro works for Port Deposit, Perryville, Rising Sun, and North East. Chris Williamson works for Charlestown and administers the grant. Additional active grants are: Athletic Complex stream restoration and stormwater project design for \$75,000.00; Dredge Material Placement Facility for \$1,000,000; Dredging at the boat ramp, town pier, and fireboat pier; Comprehensive Plan Update; Regional Economic Development Impact Analysis; and Capital Improvement Plan Update. Pending grant applications include retrofit of the Trinity Woods detention basin and constructing an additional basin to control flooding on Rt. 7; Town Hall Addition; Façade Improvement Program; Park improvements at Athletic Complex, Firemen's Field, and Avalon Park; and Water tower roof replacement at the Tory House.

Radio Surveys – Bryan Lightner: The cost proposal of \$13,800.00 from M. Davis is to determine the improvements needed for the two wells to maintain communication with the water treatment plant, and the Avalon Sewage Pump Station to communicate with the Seneca Point Wastewater Treatment Plant. Commissioner Mahan motioned to approve the \$13,800.00 for the Radio Surveys. Commissioner Costanzi seconded. Approved 4-0, with Commissioner Rinehart abstaining.

Commissioner Comments

The Commissioners discussed the various classes they attended at the 2024 MML Summer Conference. President Capano had spoken with the mayors from Perryville, Rising Sun, and Elkton and they plan to start meeting together on a regular basis to establish MOU's to help each other. Mr. Lightner met an emergency manager from the City of Laurel and they agreed to assist each other, Charlestown receiving guidance in emergency management, Laurel receiving guidance in floodplain management.

Commissioner Costanzi thanked the group for removal of the fire-damaged flagpole. Replacement is being planned and insurance will pay for it.

Commissioner Costanzi motioned to adjourn the meeting. Commissioner Akers seconded. Approved 5-0.

Respectfully submitted, Kathy SanDoe, Town Clerk